Jacks New Blankie and Swap Stuff

I have wanted to make a quilt out of the kids old clothes for quite some time, and I’m so pleased to have finally finished one! I went a little out of order and started with Jack- it was easiest since he has all those outgrown baby clothes! I just cut a bunch of squares using an easy template I purchased at walmart and used a single sheet of batting. I used a length of fun anchor fabric I’ve had on hand for several years (!) for the back, and simply folded it over and stitched it in place instead of using a seperate binding. The result is a fun, cuddly quilt that Jack totally loves. I couldn’t be happier!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I received my swap package from the “Mostly FQ Swap” over on Craftster, and I was so pleased! Check out the yummy fabrics I received from aspenwall- I love it all, but the Heather Bailey Freshcut and the bananas are my favorite!

Photobucket

Speaking of swaps, I recently participated in the “I ❤ Jim Henson Swap” also on Craftster. Here are the items I sent out- A pendant with an image of JH decoupaged on the top, I painted the bamboo domino green and used gold wire and several small glass beads to finish it, then hung it on a gold tone chain.

Photobucket

Another necklace, this one a little more funky with Dr. Teeth and Beaker, decoupaged onto pink painted wooden tiles. The pendants are interchangeable on their ball chain.

Photobucket

And the box that those items are sitting on, hand painted using my favorite Lumiere paints (same ones used for the pendants) and decoupaged (again!) with my favorite image of JH. This is a shitty picture, but the gold patches you see are reflecting from the flash. The paint I used was a green with heavy gold tint mixed in. It’s rather stunning IRL!

Photobucket

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Swaps

2 responses to “Jacks New Blankie and Swap Stuff

  1. I love all your new stuff!!! I am so impressed! I love the bags. You’ll have to show me what fabrics you have that are big enough and I’ll have you make one for me.

  2. Wow! Great stuff. I still have alot of the clothes from my kids and you’ve inspired what I can do with them. Thanks! And thanks for stopping by my blog too.

Leave a Reply

