Last night

There was a moth. He flew out of my yarn basket. Someone tell me what to do!!!! (yes, there is plenty of wool in that particular basket, but also a little acrylic and a fair amount of cotton, in case that matters.) I admit to screaming a little bit, and freaking Chris out just a tad. Silly muggle- he doesn’t understand the possible implications! I was digging through the basket looking for a manly yarn..the time has come when I feel the urge to knit him something. Nothing sweater-sized (or time consuming) but I was thinking a hat. Thoughts? On anything?

6 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Knitting

6 responses to “Last night

  1. dsa0901

    A “regular” moth that may have come in from outside, it should be okay. That happened to me once and I was like an animal-but then I read up and realized, it’s not the same type of moth that eats wool-

  2. Put it all in a zip-lock bag. Put it in the freezer for a couple days. Take it out of the freezer, but leave it in the plastic bag for about 24 hours or so.

    Then, if you do not want to keep it in zip lock bags for storage (which I recommend with wools), you can make little sachets with cloves and peppermint and other herbs that moths don’t like.

  3. Kathy

    I agree with Lynlee, the freezer is wools best friend if moths are around. It’s not the flying month you have to worry about, they don’t eat wool, but their nasty little larve love to snack on wool and other natural fibers like silk. Not sure about cotton, but a deep freeze won’t hurt it a bit.

  4. RUN FOR THE FREEZER!!! with yarn in hand and throw it in there for a day or so. it will kill anything!

  5. stringtheories

    I keep cedar blocks (bought them at Bed, Bath, and Beyond) in my yarn boxes because moths don’t like cedar. My mom always kept wool sweaters in a cedar chest and I don’t remember any holes.

  6. I have also heard that SOAP can keep the buggies away – sticking a bar of ZEST into the basket might be helpful as well –

    the freezer thing seems to work and be an old standard – makes ya want to plug in the old fridge/freezer that has been lurking in the garage, huh! 🙂

    good luck with your project – I hope the moth wasn’t snacking on your stitches!

Leave a Reply

