Help!

**Never mind, I figured it out just by reading my own blog post, lol.  Off to crochet!**

Could someone please tell me what I’m doing wrong? I’m working on one of the front pieces of the Lacy Childs Top, and I’m having an issue. Here is the pattern-

(http://cache.lionbrand.com/patterns/60420a.html)

“Shape Front and Armhole
Row 1 (WS): Turn, sl st across to first ch-1 sp, ch 1, sc in same ch-1 sp, *ch 3, sc in next ch-1 sp; rep from * across ending with sc in last ch-1 sp, leave remaining sts unworked – 9 (10, 11, 12) ch-3 sps.
Rows 2 (Dec Row)-3 (4, 4, 4): Turn, sl st in first sc and each of next 2 ch, *ch 3, sc in next ch-3 sp; rep from * across ending with sc in last ch-3 sp – 7 (7, 8, 9) ch-3 sps.
Decrease at front edge only on next 9 (9, 9, 11) rows – 2½ (2½, 3½, 3 1/2) ch-3 sps. Work in Ch-3 Mesh until armhole measures same length as Back. Fasten off.”

So, I’m decreasing at the front edge, I do the 9 rows I’m supposed to, but I don’t end up with 3.5 ch3 spaces.  I end up with 5.5- here is a pic:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I think it will be okay in the end, but being off on the stitch count the first time I try a pattern troubles me a little. What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet

2 responses to “Help!

  1. I think Lion patterns suck-but besides that. I finished the back piece of this and did notice, even though you said yesterday it was your count that was off, the pattern was off a chain space that you had to skip for the center back-I just had to sl st in the ch sp they said to skip to get the right count.

    My question is this: Does the amount you have match up with the back piece where you would seam inch wise?

    I wish this would have been done with starting the right and left front by joining it to the shoulder, basically one piece instead of the seaming and I thought about doing it that way and increasing instead of decreasing, but my laziness stopped me from rewriting the whole thing. I should have read the pattern first because I hate seaming and hate seaming the sleeves on also.

    I first saw the pattern here:
    http://littleriverfiberarts.blogspot.com/index.html
    and I did see on C’ville, when I did a search, she added two rows to the bottom, but no other changes.
    She also had to use a G hook with Peaches and Cream, but honestly, the way gauge was done, I had to be halfway through the back to measure it and I was on with an I hook and Aunt Lydia’s quick crochet (yes, that was the color Elena picked out for it-I had a bunch of choices for her too).

    Keep me posted because you know how I hate figuring this crap out.

  2. Thanks for the help, Deneen! I’m definetely not in love with the way the pattern is written, it’s a little confusing to me. So far, I’ve managed to (eventually) figure out what I’m supposed to do. I finished the sleeves last night, and I started sewing it all together this morning. Hopefully I’ll get it done by this evening!

Leave a Reply

